Work Writing About Work with me

RWA: Past, Present and FutureChapter 8 of 11

How much tokenized value actually works in DeFi

Three numbers circulate as the answer to how much tokenized value works inside DeFi, and all three are right, because each one counts something different. This chapter separates them, then follows the mechanism the whole category is built on: a tokenized fund pledged against a stablecoin loan, and the single line that decides whether that trade pays. What comes out at the end is a use that sits an order of magnitude below the headline.

What you'll learn

  • Name the three counters that circulate under one label and say what each of them measures.
  • State the condition that decides whether a leverage loop on a tokenized Treasury earns anything.
  • Separate loan collateral from a protocol's reserve asset, and say which of the two the growth in tokenized Treasuries came from.
  • Tell a tokenized bank deposit from a stablecoin, and read the turnover gap that follows from the difference.
In this chapter

Three counters, one denominator, three different answers

The denominator comes first, because it decides everything after it. Distributed assets are tokens that can leave the issuing platform and move between wallets, as against represented assets, which cannot; chapter 1 sets out that split. Only a distributed token can be deposited into somebody else's smart contract, so it is the only base on which a share of DeFi use means anything. RWA.xyz put the distributed market outside stablecoins at 33.5 bn USD in July 2026, relayed through Stobox's mid-year report, against 369 bn USD of underlying assets that those tokens reference.

The numerator then splits three ways, because a token can be in DeFi in three different senses. Collateral is a token deposited in a lending protocol against which somebody has actually borrowed, as when a fund posts USCC on Aave Horizon and draws USDC against it. A reserve asset is a token sitting on a protocol's own balance sheet behind that protocol's own product, which is what Sky does with BUIDL. A pool asset is a token parked in an automated market maker and available to swap, which supplies secondary liquidity and no borrowing capacity. The first sense is the strongest one, because there the same asset performs a second, independent economic job.

Counting only the first gives 0.73 to 1.01 bn USD, which is 2.2 to 3.0% of the distributed market. That range is the author's own estimate rather than a measurement, assembled from five components of unequal quality, and no data provider publishes a metric for the value of tokenized assets pledged in lending protocols. One of the five components is an admission of ignorance rather than a number: deSPXA on Euler, OUSG on Fluid and JAAA on 3F Protocol are all in use with no published amount, and the estimate carries them as a 0 to 150 mn USD range that on its own drives most of the uncertainty in the total.

Adding the second sense roughly quadruples the result, and adding the third roughly doubles it again.

Counter What it counts Value Share of 33.5 bn USD Date Quality
Pledged as loan collateral tokens in a lending protocol against which somebody borrowed 0.73–1.01 bn USD 2.2–3.0% Nov 2025 to Sep 2026 🟡 estimate
Held as protocol reserves tokens on a protocol's own balance sheet behind its own product 3.20–3.71 bn USD 9.6–11.1% Apr 2025 to Jun 2026 🟡 estimate
Both of those together collateral plus reserves 3.9–4.7 bn USD 11.7–14.1% as above 🟡 estimate
The broadest circulating counter RWA deposits in DeFi, composition never broken down 7.4 bn USD 22.1% Q2 2026 🟡
Neither tokens doing no DeFi job at all not stated 86–88% as above 🟡 estimate

The broadest counter comes from BeInCrypto citing RWA.xyz for the second quarter of 2026, at 7.4 bn USD and up 200% year on year. It almost certainly holds two things the collateral counter cannot: tokens that are themselves DeFi products, such as syrupUSDC, a share in Maple's loan book worth 1.044 bn USD across 8,257 holders on RWA.xyz on 19 August 2026, and wrappers counted more than once, since ACRED wrapped as sACRED and deposited into a Morpho vault can appear three times. Nobody has published a breakdown of that figure by protocol.

Two checks point the same way. A separate reading of the market by position rather than by value found that 56% of tokenized assets had no activity in a typical week of the second quarter of 2026, on a wider universe of about 60 bn USD, while the same source's own breakdown gives a different answer: of 1,289 assets worth more than 100,000 USD, only 379 recorded any transfer and 910 stood still, which is 70.6%. Those two cannot describe the same set, so they stay here as a 56 to 71% range rather than an average. Part of that stillness is specification rather than failure, a point made by insights4vc on 12 March 2026: a fund with a 5 mn USD minimum and a full whitelist is built to be subscribed, held and redeemed. That defence does not reach the collateral counter, which takes only distributed assets, and an asset that passes the transferability test and is still pledged nowhere is short of demand rather than short of permission.

Three counters under one RWA-in-DeFi labelLoan collateral, protocol balance-sheet reserves and the broadest circulating counter sit on the same 33.5 bn USD distributed denominator. The bars use the midpoint of each published range.Three counters under one RWA-in-DeFi label% of 33.5 bn USD distributed0510152025Loan collateral, 2.2–3.0%: 2.6 % of distributed2.6Loan collateral, 2.2–3.0%Protocol reserves, 9.6–11.1%: 10.35 % of distributed10.35Protocol reserves, 9.6–11.1%Broadest circulating, 22.1%: 22.1 % of distributed22.1Broadest circulating, 22.1%Denominator Jul 2026; collateral and reserves from the author's assembled estimate; broadest counter BeInCrypto citing RWA.xyz, Q2 2026
Three counters circulate under one label and sit on the same 33.5 bn USD distributed denominator, from loan collateral at the narrow end to the broadest deposit counter at 22.1%, on figures dated Jul 2026 for the denominator and Q2 2026 for the broadest counter.

The loop earns only when the borrow cost sits below the yield

Everything in this chapter runs on overcollateralization, the rule that a borrower pledges more than the loan is worth, and chapter 3 records what it cost to learn: unsecured on-chain credit failed in every case in that material, Maple taking about 54 mn USD of bad debt in 2022 and Goldfinch voting to wind down in June 2026 with roughly 56 mn USD unpaid.

Looping is the strategy built on top of that rule, in four steps: post collateral, borrow a stablecoin, buy more of the collateral, post it again. It runs in production. The Securitize and Gauntlet strategy on Apollo's tokenized credit fund does exactly this, with a vault on Polygon PoS posting ACRED as collateral on Morpho, borrowing USDC and reinvesting, inside Gauntlet's risk framework.

With infinitely many iterations at a loan-to-value ratio of L, total exposure is equity divided by (1 − L), and return on equity is:

ROE = (y − b·L) / (1 − L)

where y is the yield of the collateral and b is the borrow cost. At L = 50% the leverage is 2.0×. The equation gives the condition that settles the whole question: the loop beats simply holding the asset if and only if b < y, independent of the loan-to-value ratio. Leverage multiplies the difference between the two rates; it never changes its sign.

That matters because the yield on this kind of collateral moves. USCC, the Bitwise Crypto Carry Fund and until 1 June 2026 the Superstate Crypto Carry Fund, showed a 30-day yield of 9.18% on RWA.xyz on 4 September 2026, and about 3.56% a month earlier on the implication of the same card's 30-day change. The fund states that its 30-day return reflects the change in net asset value per share including basis accrual, staking rewards and mark-to-market effects, so it can be negative. The break-even level of a loop on such collateral moves with it.

Collateral yield y Borrow cost b ROE of a 2× loop Holding the asset Difference
9.18% 3.24% 15.12% 9.18% +5.94 pp
9.18% 5.50% 12.86% 9.18% +3.68 pp
9.18% 8.00% 10.36% 9.18% +1.18 pp
3.56% 3.24% 3.88% 3.56% +0.32 pp
3.56% 5.50% 1.62% 3.56% −1.94 pp
3.56% 8.00% −0.88% 3.56% −4.44 pp

Raise the loan-to-value ratio and the sign follows the same rule. At 70%, which is 3.33× leverage, with y = 3.56% and b = 5.5%, the loop returns −0.97%, so leverage alone turns a positive yield into a negative one. Morpho's launch of fixed-rate lending on Base in July 2026, under the name Morpho Midnight, therefore does more for this category than another collateral listing would.

Every collateral value in that equation arrives through a NAV oracle, which is the subject of chapter 6 and the reason the loop is not a purely financial calculation.

The four-step loop on a tokenized fundPost a tokenized fund as collateral, borrow a stablecoin, buy more of the same fund, and post it again. The loop beats holding the asset only while the borrow cost sits below the collateral's yield, independent of the loan-to-value ratio.The four-step loop on a tokenized fundloan at LTV LloopTokenized fund: yield yTokenized fundyield yPost as collateral: overcollateralizedPost as collateralovercollateralizedBorrow stablecoin: cost bBorrow stablecoincost bBuy more of the fund: and post it againBuy more of the fundand post it againROE = (y − b·L) / (1 − L), knowledge base module 10; rates dated Aug 2025 to 4 Sep 2026
The four-step loop posts a tokenized fund as collateral, borrows a stablecoin and buys more of the same fund, and it beats holding the asset only while the borrow cost sits below the collateral's yield, on the ROE formula from the author's knowledge base and rates dated Aug 2025 to 4 Sep 2026.

Aave Horizon reached scale, then stopped growing

Aave Horizon is a separate instance of Aave V3 on Ethereum, live since 27 August 2025, and it is the only RWA collateral market that reached measurable scale. Its design is permissioned collateral with permissionless liquidity: only an investor on the issuer's whitelist may post the RWA, while anyone at all may supply the USDC, RLUSD or GHO that gets borrowed against it. LlamaRisk recommends and maintains the risk parameters, and Aave describes the pricing layer as supplied by Chainlink through LlamaGuard Net Asset Value. Utilization, the share of deposits that has been borrowed, stood at 30.3% on the 163.5 against 539.8 mn USD reading that circulates for July 2026.

That pair of numbers is where the market's own record breaks down.

Reading Deposits Borrowed Date Quality
Aave, scaling phase over 440 mn USD not stated ~Oct 2025 🟢
The Defiant on Aave data 539.8 mn USD 163.5 mn USD ~Nov 2025 🟡
Cryptonomist and AltcoinBuzz close to 600 mn USD over 200 mn USD, the peak 7 Jan 2026 🟡
Coin Metrics and Talos over 510 mn USD 172 mn USD ~26 May 2026 🟡
CryptoDaily, then CoinMarketCap 539.8 mn USD 163.5 mn USD, as of Jul 2026 10 Jul 2026 🔴

Even at its largest, the number is small against its own market: 163.5 mn USD of borrowing is 0.43% of the distributed market, and the deposits behind it are 1.41%.

Below Horizon the markets fall away by roughly an order of magnitude at each step. Morpho carries 330 to 400 mn USD of RWA collateral in mid-2026 against 240 to 270 mn USD of active borrowing, spread over 45 separate markets at the start of 2026; its architecture separates infrastructure from strategy, so a bad curator is the depositor's problem rather than a DAO's. On Solana the collateral is equities rather than Treasuries: the whole category of tokenized stocks posted as collateral peaked at 53 mn USD at the end of July 2026, with Kamino holding more than 31 mn USD of that, which is 1.3 to 2.8% of the protocol's own deposits.

Market or position RWA collateral Date Source Quality
Morpho, all RWA markets 330–400 mn USD mid-2026 CryptoBriefing 🟡
Aave Horizon, RWA net of stablecoin supply 307–367 mn USD Nov 2025 to Jan 2026 The Defiant, Cryptonomist 🟡
Euler, Fluid, Flux and 3F 0–150 mn USD 2026 no published amounts 🔴
Tokenized stocks on Solana, all venues 53 mn USD at peak end Jul 2026 KuCoin, CryptoBriefing 🟡
USCC used outside Kamino 44 mn USD 16 Jul 2026 Solana Compass 🟢
FWDI on Kamino 13.0 mn USD 16 Jul 2026 Solana Compass 🟢
USCC on Kamino 4.4 mn USD 16 Jul 2026 Solana Compass 🟢

Solana Compass's case study of Superstate on 16 July 2026 gives the sharpest sense of the scale: USCC had 4.4 mn USD posted as collateral on Kamino against a 140 mn USD fund, plus 44 mn USD across other DeFi markets, while Kamino's own book at the time held 2.2 bn USD of deposits and 1 bn USD of pooled loans and its main lending program saw about 140 unique wallets a day.

The largest buyer of tokenized Treasuries is a protocol's own balance sheet

Sky, formerly MakerDAO, ran a competitive process to buy the most competitive tokenized short-term US debt products. Thirty-nine teams entered, Steakhouse Financial judged them on liquidity and capital efficiency, and a governance vote split the first 1 bn USD tranche into 500 mn USD of BUIDL, 300 mn USD of USTB and 200 mn USD of JTRSY. A second 1 bn USD tranche went to the same three, taking Spark's value locked to 2.4 bn USD, which at that moment was more than two-thirds of a US tokenized-Treasury market worth 3.5 bn USD. Grove, another protocol in the same ecosystem, started separately with 1 bn USD from Sky in JAAA, the tokenized Janus Henderson AAA CLO strategy on Centrifuge. Ethena holds a further 200 to 310 mn USD of JAAA as a reserve asset as of June 2026.

Not one dollar of that roughly 3.4 bn USD is pledged against a loan. All of it is reserve. The AUM of BUIDL, USTB and JTRSY without that demand would look nothing like it does, so a large share of what gets reported as growth in the RWA market is growth in the allocation of one DAO.

Who holds tokenized Treasuries, as a share of the distributed marketSky's Spark, Grove and Ethena hold more tokenized value on their own balance sheets than the entire market has pledged as loan collateral.Who holds tokenized Treasuries, as a share of the distributed market% of 33.5 bn USD distributed051015Protocol balance sheets, 9.6–11.1%: 10.35 % of distributed10.35Protocol balance sheets, 9.6–11.1%Loan collateral, 2.2–3.0%: 2.6 % of distributed2.6Loan collateral, 2.2–3.0%Spark allocations Apr 2025 to 2026; Ethena JAAA Jun 2026; collateral estimate spanning Nov 2025 to Sep 2026; denominator Jul 2026
Sky's Spark, Grove and Ethena hold more tokenized value on their own balance sheets than the entire market has pledged as loan collateral, on allocations dated Apr 2025 to Jun 2026 and a collateral estimate spanning Nov 2025 to Sep 2026.

A tokenized deposit and a stablecoin differ by counterparty, not by technology

The distinction most often skipped in 2026 is the one between a stablecoin and a bank deposit on a chain. A stablecoin is a liability of its issuer, covered by a segregated reserve under a reporting regime: monthly reports examined by a firm registered with the PCAOB and certified by the chief executive and chief financial officer, an annual GAAP audit above 50 bn USD in circulation under the GENIUS Act, and monthly publication of reserve composition under article 36 of MiCA. About 80% of USDC's reserve sits in a dedicated fund managed by BlackRock with custody at BNY Mellon, on a June 2026 reading.

A tokenized deposit is a liability of a bank, recorded in the bank's own books, moving on a permissioned network and governed by banking rules rather than by the stablecoin reserve regime. Kinexys, J.P. Morgan's deposit-token network, settles more than 7 bn USD a day across eight currencies on a July 2026 figure. That is a flow inside a closed system and shares no unit with the stock of distributed value quoted elsewhere in this chapter, so the two never belong in the same comparison.

The legal difference is measurable in how hard the token works. Anyone can receive a stablecoin, so its turnover is a multiple of its market value; only a whitelisted address can receive a tokenized fund. On BNB Chain, on a reading dated 17 April 2026, stablecoins worth 14.14 bn USD moved 216.42 bn USD in 30 days, about 1,531% a month, while RWA worth 3.73 bn USD moved 1.46 bn USD, about 39%. On XRP Ledger in August 2026 the same comparison runs from about 431% a month for stablecoins to about 0.45% for represented RWA. Same chain, same fees, same finality, and three orders of magnitude between them.

A stablecoin and a deposit token differ in who owes the holderWho owes the holder, which rule book applies and who may receive the token. The last of those is what separates their turnover. Kinexys settles over 7 bn USD a day inside a closed permissioned system.A stablecoin and a deposit token differ in who owes the holderStablecoinTokenized depositWho owes the holderWho owes the holder · Stablecoin: the token's issuerthe token's issuerWho owes the holder · Tokenized deposit: the bank that took itthe bank that took itRule bookRule book · Stablecoin: stablecoin statute or nonestablecoin statute or noneRule book · Tokenized deposit: banking lawbanking lawWho may receive itWho may receive it · Stablecoin: anyone the token allowsanyone the token allowsWho may receive it · Tokenized deposit: the bank's permissioned setthe bank's permissioned setDeposit guaranteeDeposit guarantee · Stablecoin: nonenoneDeposit guarantee · Tokenized deposit: depends on bank and lawdepends on bank and lawTurnover on same railsTurnover on same rails · Stablecoin: XRPL 431%/mo, BNB 1,531%XRPL 431%/mo, BNB 1,531%Turnover on same rails · Tokenized deposit: Kinexys >7 bn USD/dayKinexys >7 bn USD/dayRegime detail and Kinexys figure dated Jul 2026; turnover on XRPL and BNB Chain from knowledge base module 8
A stablecoin and a deposit token differ in who owes the holder, which rule book applies and who may receive the token, and the last of those is what separates their turnover, on regime detail and a Kinexys figure dated Jul 2026.

Most exposure to real assets on-chain involves no token at all

An RWA perpetual is a perpetual futures contract whose index is the price of a real asset, a share, an index or an ounce of gold. There is no tokenization in it, no custody and no redemption, only a price, leverage and funding paid in stablecoins. Since permissionless market deployment opened on Hyperliquid on 13 October 2025 through to May 2026, more than 100 RWA markets appeared with cumulative volume above 130 bn USD and open interest of 1.70 to 1.74 bn USD.

One figure settles the size question. Only 4.1% of RWA perpetual volume settles on tokenized contracts, on a CoinMarketCap Academy reading of around May 2026, which leaves 95.9% of on-chain turnover in exposure to real assets touching no tokenized asset whatsoever. CoinGecko's readings say the same thing from the other side: perpetuals on real assets did 524.8 bn USD of volume in the first quarter of 2026 against about 19.3 bn USD of spot value, and on tokenized shares specifically, 376.3 bn USD of perpetual volume against 7.5 bn USD of spot, a ratio of 50 to 1.

The reason is a difference in how many problems each product has to solve. Tokenization has to answer custody, the transfer agent, the whitelist, KYC, redemption and a NAV oracle before the token exists. A perpetual has to answer one question, where the price comes from. What the perpetual does not give is a claim, ownership, a dividend, a vote or a redemption right, which is why it fails all three conditions in chapter 1's test. Trading is better served by the perpetual; ownership and pledging are what tokenization is for, and mixing the two in one statistic produces most of the confusion about how big this market is.

Key takeaways

  1. The three numbers circulating as RWA in DeFi sit on the same 33.5 bn USD distributed denominator of July 2026 and answer three different questions: 0.73 to 1.01 bn USD pledged as loan collateral, 3.20 to 3.71 bn USD held as protocol reserves, and 7.4 bn USD on the broadest deposit counter for the second quarter of 2026.
  2. The narrow counter of 2.2 to 3.0% is the author's estimate from five components and not a measurement, and one component is a 0 to 150 mn USD range standing in for markets that publish no amounts.
  3. A leverage loop on a tokenized Treasury beats holding the asset if and only if the borrow cost is below the collateral's yield, independent of the loan-to-value ratio; at y = 3.56% and b = 5.5%, a 2× loop returns 1.62% against 3.56% for holding, and a 3.33× loop returns −0.97%.
  4. Aave Horizon peaked in early 2026 at close to 600 mn USD of deposits and over 200 mn USD of borrowing on a 7 January 2026 reading, and the 539.8 against 163.5 mn USD pair widely quoted as July 2026 traces back to November 2025 coverage.
  5. Borrowing of 163.5 mn USD against RWA collateral is 0.43% of the distributed market, which is the size of the only collateral venue that ever reached scale.
  6. The largest buyer of tokenized Treasuries is a DeFi protocol's balance sheet: Sky's two tranches of 1 bn USD took Spark to 2.4 bn USD, more than two-thirds of a 3.5 bn USD market at the time, and none of it is pledged against a loan.
  7. A stablecoin is a claim on its issuer under a reserve regime and a tokenized deposit is a claim on a bank under banking rules, and the difference in who may receive the token shows up as a gap from about 0.45% to about 1,531% monthly turnover on the same chains.
  8. Only 4.1% of RWA perpetual volume settles on tokenized contracts, so 95.9% of on-chain turnover in exposure to real assets uses no tokenized asset at all.

Glossary

Collateral
a token deposited in a lending protocol against which somebody has borrowed. The narrowest and strongest sense of a tokenized asset working in DeFi.
Reserve asset
a token held on a protocol's own balance sheet to back that protocol's own product. It works for the protocol, and nobody has pledged it.
Pool asset
a token held in an automated market maker and available to swap. It supplies secondary liquidity and no borrowing capacity.
Looping
posting collateral, borrowing a stablecoin, buying more collateral and posting it again. Return on equity is (y − b·L) / (1 − L), so it earns only while the borrow cost is below the collateral yield.
Loan-to-value ratio
how much can be borrowed against a pledge. At 50%, collateral worth 10 mn USD supports a 5 mn USD loan and infinite iteration gives 2.0× leverage.
Utilization
the share of a lending market's deposits that has been borrowed. Aave Horizon's 163.5 against 539.8 mn USD reading is 30.3%.
Permissioned collateral, permissionless liquidity
Aave Horizon's design, in which only whitelisted investors may post the RWA while anyone may supply the stablecoin that gets borrowed.
Tokenized deposit
a liability of a bank recorded in the bank's own books and moved on a permissioned network, governed by banking rules rather than by the stablecoin reserve regime.
RWA perpetual
a perpetual futures contract indexed to the price of a real asset. It carries no claim, no custody and no redemption.
Overcollateralization
pledging more than the loan is worth, the rule that every structure in this chapter depends on.

Go deeper

  • The four waves: the overcollateralization rule behind every loop here was paid for in wave two, and the amounts lost are on the record.
  • Oracles and NAV: every collateral value in the loop equation arrives through a NAV oracle, with the freshness problems measured there.
  • Who's who: the RWA map by layer: Aave, Morpho, Sky and Ethena all return there with full profiles.
  • 🟢 Aave, Aave Horizon Launches, 27 Aug 2025: launch date, permissioned collateral with permissionless liquidity, non-transferable aToken, over 440 mn USD in the scaling phase.
  • 🟢 Solana Compass, Superstate case study, 16 Jul 2026: USCC at 4.4 mn USD of collateral on Kamino, 44 mn USD across other DeFi markets, Kamino at 2.2 bn USD of deposits and about 140 unique wallets a day.
  • 🟢 RWA.xyz, USCC asset card read 4 Sep 2026: NAV per share 11.72 USD, assets 89.38 mn USD, 53 holders, 30-day APY 9.18%.
Sources

🟢 primary · 🟡 credible secondary · 🔴 tertiary (never used to cite a number)

  • 🟡 Stobox, The State of RWA Tokenization, 2026 Mid-Year Report, data collected 10 Jul 2026, relaying RWA.xyz: distributed value outside stablecoins 33.5 bn USD, underlying assets 369 bn USD, and the statement that below 10% of tokenized value reaches DeFi (via content/blog/rwa/ile-rwa-pracuje-w-defi.md).
  • 🟢 Author's knowledge base, module 10: the three counters, the five components of the collateral estimate, the ROE formula and the b < y condition, and the explicit warning that the central figure is an estimate rather than a measurement.
  • 🟡 BeInCrypto citing RWA.xyz, Q2 2026: RWA deposits in DeFi 7.4 bn USD, up 200% year on year; headline 56% of tokenized assets without weekly activity; breakdown of 1,289 assets above 100,000 USD with 379 transferring and 910 still.
  • 🟡 insights4vc, 12 Mar 2026: many of the largest tokenized assets are first-level represented products that were never designed to trade.
  • 🟢 Aave, Aave Horizon Launches and How Aave Horizon is Built to Support Institutions: launch 27 Aug 2025, division of duties between issuer, LlamaRisk and Chaos Labs, Chainlink as the pricing layer through LlamaGuard Net Asset Value, non-transferable aToken.
  • 🟡 The Defiant, Aave's Horizon RWA Market Nears $540 Million, Adds VanEck Treasury Fund, ~Nov 2025: 539.8 mn USD deposits, 163.5 mn USD borrowed, 94.5 mn USD available, RLUSD 164 mn USD and GHO 69 mn USD supplied.
  • 🟡 Cryptonomist and AltcoinBuzz, 7 Jan 2026: borrowing peak above 200 mn USD against deposits close to 600 mn USD.
  • 🟡 Coin Metrics and Talos, State of the Network no. 365, ~26 May 2026: over 510 mn USD of deposits and 172 mn USD borrowed.
  • 🟡 Sentora (Juan Pellicer), Aave Horizon Launch, Aug 2025: USDC pool utilization 57%, borrow rate 3.24% APY, supply rate 1.66% APY.
  • 🟡 The Block Research, RWAs as Collateral: The New Primitive, ~Aug 2026: the worked example of 10 mn USD of collateral at 6.5% against 5 mn USD of USDC at 5.5%, 162,000 USD against 137,000 USD, 25,000 USD net and no taxable event. The arithmetic inconsistency in that sentence is set out in the author's knowledge base, module 10.
  • 🟡 CryptoBriefing, Morpho targets real-world assets as untapped market for lending, ~Aug 2026: RWA collateral 330 to 400 mn USD and active borrowing 240 to 270 mn USD in mid-2026, 45 RWA markets at the start of 2026, Morpho Midnight fixed-rate lending on Base in Jul 2026.
  • 🟡 Markets Media, Tokenized Apollo Credit Fund Used for Levered RWA Strategy: the ACRED loop as a vault on Polygon PoS posting collateral on Morpho, borrowing USDC and reinvesting, under Gauntlet's risk framework with Securitize as transfer agent.
  • 🟢 RedStone blog, 5 Jun 2025: Gauntlet's vault on the Morpho sACRED market on Polygon "can generate returns of up to 16%, compared to the standard 8–9% yield from ACRED", with a USDC borrow cost of 3 to 4% (via research/redstone.md §0 item 3).
  • 🟡 Unchained, 9 May 2025: borrowers can draw "$0.78 for every $1 of ACRED deposited" and there is "no official limit to the leverage" (via research/redstone.md §0 item 3).
  • 🟢 RWA.xyz, USCC asset card read 4 Sep 2026: 30-day APY 9.18%, up 158.17% in 30 days, NAV per share 11.72 USD, assets 89.38 mn USD, 53 holders, management fee 0.75%.
  • 🟢 Superstate documentation for USCC: allowlist-only transfer, redemption on every session day, daily NAV per share, and the statement that the 30-day yield includes mark-to-market effects.
  • 🟢 RWA.xyz, syrupUSDC asset card read 19 Aug 2026: 1.044 bn USD of value, 8,257 holders, 30-day APY 4.71%.
  • 🟡 KuCoin and CryptoBriefing, ~Jul to Aug 2026: tokenized stocks as collateral on Solana peaking at 53 mn USD, Kamino above 31 mn USD, 23.1 mn USD in mid-July 2026, Jupiter Lend as the second venue.
  • 🟢 Solana Compass, Superstate case study, 16 Jul 2026: USCC 4.4 mn USD on Kamino against a 140 mn USD fund and 44 mn USD in other DeFi markets, FWDI 13.0 mn USD, Kamino at 2.2 bn USD of deposits and 1 bn USD of loans, 39,514 transactions in 30 days and about 140 unique wallets a day.
  • 🟡 CoinDesk and Yahoo Finance, BlackRock's BUIDL, Superstate and Centrifuge Win Spark's $1B Tokenized Asset Windfall: 39 teams entered, Steakhouse Financial judged, first tranche 500 mn USD BUIDL, 300 mn USD USTB, 200 mn USD JTRSY.
  • 🟡 Decrypt, Spark Commits Additional $1 Billion to Lead Tokenized Treasuries Sector: second tranche of 1 bn USD, Spark's value locked 2.4 bn USD, more than two-thirds of a 3.5 bn USD US tokenized-Treasury market.
  • 🟡 CoinDesk, Sky's New DeFi Protocol Launches With $1B Tokenized Asset Strategy: Grove starting with 1 bn USD from Sky in JAAA.
  • 🟡 Daniel McGlynn, Ethena, Janus Henderson, Centrifuge: Tokenized CLOs as Onchain Collateral: JAAA as Ethena's reserve asset, cap about 310 mn USD, issuance 200 mn USD, Jun 2026.
  • 🟢 RWA.xyz turnover readings: stablecoins on BNB Chain 14.14 bn USD of value against 216.42 bn USD of 30-day transfers on a reading dated 17 Apr 2026, RWA on BNB Chain 3.73 bn USD against 1.46 bn USD; on XRP Ledger in Aug 2026 stablecoins 901.4 mn USD against 3.89 bn USD with 60,240 holders, represented RWA 4.06 bn USD against 18.15 mn USD with 199 holders.
  • 🟡 Stobox, Jul 2026: Kinexys settles more than 7 bn USD a day across eight currencies, a flow inside a closed system with no common unit against distributed value.
  • 🟢 GENIUS Act and MiCA article 36 reporting requirements for stablecoin reserves, with the USDC reserve at about 80% in a dedicated fund managed by BlackRock with custody at BNY Mellon on a Jun 2026 reading (via content/blog/rwa/stos-technologiczny-2026.md).
  • 🟢 Custody insurance and protection: digital assets at one federally licensed custodian carry no FDIC and no SIPC protection, and declared 2026 policy limits run from 30 mn USD to over 350 mn USD (via content/blog/rwa/stos-technologiczny-2026.md).
  • 🟡 CoinMarketCap Academy, RWA Perpetuals State of the Market, ~May 2026: permissionless market deployment from 13 Oct 2025, more than 100 RWA markets, over 130 bn USD of cumulative volume, open interest 1.70 to 1.74 bn USD, and 4.1% of volume settling on tokenized contracts.
  • 🟢 CoinGecko, data to 31 Mar 2026 and Tokenized Equities Report, Sep 2026: perpetuals on real assets 524.8 bn USD of Q1 2026 volume against about 19.3 bn USD of spot value; tokenized shares 376.3 bn USD in perpetuals against 7.5 bn USD in spot.
  • 🟢 Author's knowledge base, module 3 and chapter 3: Maple's roughly 54 mn USD of 2022 bad debt, the move to 150%-plus overcollateralization in May 2024, and Goldfinch's June 2026 wind-down with about 56 mn USD unpaid.

All chapters of "RWA: Past, Present and Future" →